Toddler-Yoga

Toddler Yoga Book Review and Giveaway

Introducing the Toddler Yoga Book Review and Giveaway with Kids Yoga Stories

Enter contest at bottom of the post via the Rafflecopter online giveaway tool.

This is week #3 in our 10-Week Kids Yoga Resources Reviews and Giveaways.

Welcome to a program specifically designed for Infants, Toddlers, and Preschoolers:  Itsy Bitsy Yoga.  I just discovered Helen Garabedian’s book a few months ago, and only wished that I had found it when our daughter was born.  Check out the Itsy Bitsy Yoga website for classes in your area, trainings, and products.

Toddler Yoga

Helen’s top benefits for practicing toddler yoga:

  • Fewer Tantrums
  • Better and longer sleep
  • Increased motor coordination
  • Improved listening and ability to follow directions
  • Better self-expression
  • Higher self-esteem
  • Easier relaxation
  • A healthy and fit lifestyle

What I like about Itsy Bitsy Yoga for Toddlers and Preschoolers book:

  • Over fifty postures appropriate for under five year olds
  • Combination of physical postures, movement activities, songs, and rhymes
  • Shows you how to practice yoga with your child from birth
  • Parents exercise with their child and reap the benefits of yoga as well
  • Basic information on how to get started, including what to wear, props to use, space to practice in, suitable breathing techniques, setting an intention, specific guidelines, and top ten tips
  • Includes nine routines with a series of thematic poses, detailed descriptions, pictures of a parent and child in the poses, and suggested oral instructions

My favorite routine is the Tantrum Taming toddler yoga sequence which includes:

Spinning Around on the Spot

3-Legged Downward-Facing Dog Pose

Bear Walk

Lion’s Breath

Jumping Tree Pose

Warrior 2 Pose

Warrior 2 Pose

Our daughter in Warrior 2 Pose

Let’s just say that our two-year-old daughter is a lively, spirited child!  She gets extremely frustrated when she can’t yet do everything she wants to do, when she wants to do it, and how she wants to do it.  This intense frustration leads to multiple tantrums a day. We are working together as a family to guide her lizard brain into learning ways to bring calm to her life.  Imagine my excitement when I found the Tantrum Taming sequence. We have started “spinning” when a tantrum starts, and it immediately makes her giggle.  I wonder if the spinning helps to shift the focus and allows the lizard brain to be distracted.  Whatever it is, it works!

The practical tips in the Itsy Bitsy Yoga book help parents to practice yoga with their little ones.  I would like to offer you the chance to win your own copy to try out at home!

 

For this Toddler Yoga Book Giveaway, Kids Yoga Stories will be giving away:

1 – Itsy Bitsy Yoga for Toddlers and Preschoolers: 8-Minute Routines to Help Your Child Grow Smarter, Be Happier, and Behave Better by Helen Garabedian ($16.95 value)

Toddler Yoga Book

1 – Kids Yoga Stories book of your choice (up to $15.95 value)

Kids Yoga Stories

Please read the full Contest Rules below for details.

We look forward to your entries. Thank you for taking the time to participate.  Please let me know if you have any questions or problems with the Rafflecopter tool below, email at giselle at kidsyogastories dot com.

Toddler Yoga Book Giveaway

To enter the contest, please sign in using your Facebook account or email, and click on the different ways to enter.  You can enter every day using this Rafflecopter online giveaway tool.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Contest Rules:
1. International entries are welcome.
2. You can be any age to enter.
3. Participation in the contest constitutes that you agree to the Contest Rules.
4. Please enter using the Rafflecopter tool above, obtaining points as follow the different options. You can enter every day.
5. No purchase is necessary.
6. Kids Yoga Stories and Itsy Bitsy Yoga accept no responsibility or liability for any injuries or losses that may result from practicing the yoga poses in the books. Please ensure your own safety and the safety of the children.
7. You must enter the contest giveaway with a valid email address. The winner will be notified by email and at that time we will request your mailing address. The shipping of the book can take some time, depending on your location. Kids Yoga Stories will ship the books to you and will cover the shipping costs.
8. Let Giselle know if you have any questions by emailing her directly at giselle at kidsyogastories dot com.
9. The contest will close on Tuesday, October 21st, 2013, midnight PST.

Like to know of other Contest Giveaways?  Sign up for our weekly Kids Yoga Stories Newsletter (put name and email address into box at the top of the page) to get updates of the upcoming weekly giveaways!

Share thisShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestShare on Google+Email this to someone

, , ,

27 Responses to Toddler Yoga Book Review and Giveaway

  1. Amy Pappas October 16, 2013 at 2:24 pm #

    What a great giveaway!!! I always love to teach kids new things, this is exactly what I need! And today, my sister had her first baby, a boy, I still haven’t seen and can’t wait for it and do some yoga with him, in the near future, as well! Children deserve ALL THE BEST!

  2. Pam October 16, 2013 at 2:45 pm #

    I have a daughter with Sensory Processing Disorder. We already use yoga as tool to help her remain calm and focused, and this would be a great way to add variety to what we already do.

  3. Karen Thygerson October 16, 2013 at 8:02 pm #

    Kids Yoga Stories ROCKS! I would love to add any of your books and/or this toddler yoga book to my collection. I teach my daughter’s 3rd grade class yoga every week, and hope to continue the tradition with my soon-to-be Kindergarten son. I’m always looking for more resources, so thank you for doing this give-away! Maybe next time you can include my book, too: Rhyme and Shine: Yoga Sun Salutation for Kids. Check it out at rhymeandshineyoga.com
    Thanks!
    -karen

  4. Danya Banya October 17, 2013 at 2:40 am #

    I love Kids Yoga Stories! And excited to learn about another great kids yoga books too. I’ve got a little 13 month old that is just about ready to learn her first yoga move. 🙂

  5. nichole October 17, 2013 at 7:28 am #

    My almost 3 year old would love this! We have one very short yoga book for her and she’ll do it over and over… and over. haha She would def appreciate this!

  6. Brandy Fisk October 17, 2013 at 11:29 am #

    I have extra hyper daycare kids.

  7. Joanna October 17, 2013 at 1:48 pm #

    Can’t wait to check these books out!

  8. nicola October 17, 2013 at 10:45 pm #

    Have only just discovered itsy bitsy yoga! Looking forward to practicing with my little yogi!!

  9. nicola October 17, 2013 at 10:54 pm #

    i look after children and I teach childrens yoga, this would definitely help toddlers! only just discovered itsy bitsy yoga but im looking forward to using it and practising fot I’ved to practicing with my own little yogi aswell, she’s ten months old

  10. Sofia Jesus October 18, 2013 at 2:27 am #

    Beautifull giveaway!!!! This woul be beautiful for me because I woul be able to refresh some of my ideas about yoga for todlers and enrich my “playshops” with this populaton, it woul be great for my nephews that would love me to bring some new activities for them!
    New books with new strories are always welcome! Helps us grow, get to know other creations and challenges us to invent new ways to embrace them with yoga poses and expressive movement 🙂
    Love it!!!!

  11. Carin October 18, 2013 at 3:12 am #

    I work with two great preschools that love yoga for children and really embrace new ideas which I am always looking for. Thanks for the great ideas!

  12. Laura October 18, 2013 at 3:15 am #

    My 3 year old daughter loves practicing yoga like her mama. I also teach a social skills group to K-1 students on the autism spectrum. They would enjoy these resources and could really reap the benefits of yoga.

  13. Maves October 18, 2013 at 4:58 am #

    I am a busy mom of two young, very active, boys. I truly believe in the benefits of yoga, especially in children, and would love to be able to share these with my family. Thank you for the opportunity.

  14. T.K. October 18, 2013 at 7:08 am #

    My two young daughters and I practice yoga at home, as well as at a kids yoga class in our area, but I find that my 4 year old becomes easily frustrated by the adult videos we have at home, and gives up. It would be great to have a child-centered, brief and FUN routine she could relate to that would boost her confidence when practicing yoga. The 8 minute routines offered by Itsy Bitsy Yoga sound perfect!

  15. Penny Hewey October 18, 2013 at 8:42 am #

    I would love this book to give us a good sequence of yoga for my 2 year old as well as an estimated time. I could set a timer to make sure it goes that long or more and know that it wasn’t just play for two minutes 🙂 She’s already been very excited doing yoga with the last giveaway for the ABC’s of Australian Animals book. It’s a great intro book and she definitely loved it when I told her to be like the animals.

  16. Cathy October 18, 2013 at 8:59 am #

    I teach yoga to toddlers and children. I have 5 nieces, one of whom has a child. The rest are getting ready to think about having children. I would love to be able to introduce them to yoga for their children by giving them this book!

  17. Amy g October 18, 2013 at 10:37 am #

    I like that this book includes tips for parents on how to integrate and introduce yoga to toddlers.

  18. Kym M October 18, 2013 at 6:37 pm #

    This book looks great, I work in a preschool and think children’s would enhance our curriculum, I would love to have this as a resource to start a yoga class with the toddler age group.

  19. Selena October 18, 2013 at 7:57 pm #

    To be honest, I have been waiting until my daughter turned three or four to try yoga with her because I didn’t think she could at the age of two. I would love to win in order to learn how to start teaching her yoga poses now. It would also be awesome to try with my moms group. We could all use a new technique on the toddler tantrum.

  20. jennie sanderson @jenpsht October 18, 2013 at 10:51 pm #

    I’ve done some yoga poses with my son it takes a certain mood to get him interested! I would love this book!

  21. jennie sanderson @jenpsht October 18, 2013 at 10:52 pm #

    I think it would be useful because it would be a resource for me to use rather than videos. When I try to play a video on my computer my son gets distracted and wants to do other things (like play games) instead of doing yoga!

  22. Maegan Morin October 19, 2013 at 11:29 am #

    Done! I would love to get my kids interested in Yoga 😀

  23. Kirby October 19, 2013 at 12:55 pm #

    I’m a former yoga-doer trying to get back into it after baby. It would be so helpful to know what I can get him to do with me!!

  24. krystyl olson October 19, 2013 at 4:59 pm #

    I would love to share these books with my kids (2 & 7) we love trying out new phyical activities – I could also incororate it into my preschool curricumum

  25. Dianne October 19, 2013 at 7:36 pm #

    My daughter loves the yoga books she has & keeps asking to do more. I want to incorporate yoga into her normal morning routine (we already do it at bedtime.) This would be great to help us with that.

  26. Claire Rheinheimer October 20, 2013 at 5:19 pm #

    I have a very active 2 year old son, some time spent one on one would be wonderful, and teaching him yoga moves would be good for both of us. His 4 month old sister would enjoy watching, she thinks he’s hilarious when he’s jumping around!

  27. kia October 21, 2013 at 8:10 pm #

    I have a 3 year-old and a 6 month old, plus am a yoga teacher. I also have itsy bitsy for baby and recommend that book to most of my mama yoga clients.

Leave a Reply

PHP Code Snippets Powered By : XYZScripts.com